cosmeticshost.blogg.se

Super grub2 windows 10
Super grub2 windows 10





super grub2 windows 10
  1. #Super grub2 windows 10 install#
  2. #Super grub2 windows 10 windows 10#
  3. #Super grub2 windows 10 iso#
  4. #Super grub2 windows 10 windows 7#

Ĭontrol GRUB’s Menu Timeout: If GRUB isn’t automatically hidden, you’ll see the menu each time your computer boots. To prevent GRUB from being automatically hidden, comment the line out - just add a # before it so that it reads #GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0. To set a higher timeout, use something like GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=5 - GRUB will display an empty screen or splash screen for five seconds, during which you can press any key to view the menu. You can still access the menu by holding Shift as your computer boots. This option specifies GRUB will be hidden and it will automatically boot to the default OS after 0 seconds –immediately, in other words. Save a Default Operating System: If you choose GRUB_DEFAULT=saved, you also need to add a GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT=true line - otherwise it won’t work.Ĭhoose Whether GRUB is Hidden: With only one operating system installed, Ubuntu defaults GRUB to automatically boot to the default OS with the GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0 option.

#Super grub2 windows 10 windows 7#

For example, if you had an operating system named Windows 7 (loader) in your OS list, you could use GRUB_DEFAULT=”Windows 7 (loader)” You could also use GRUB_DEFAULT=saved and GRUB would automatically boot the last operating system you chose each time you boot.

super grub2 windows 10

By default, GRUB_DEFAULT=0 uses the first entry as the default - change the number to 1 to use the second entry, 2 to use the third entry, or so on. If it does, edit the existing line instead of adding a duplicate one.Ĭhoose the Default OS: Change the GRUB_DEFAULT= line. If any of the options below doesn’t already appear in the file, add it on a new line. As with any other configuration file, you need to edit the options to your desired state and then change the file. The /etc/default/grub file is short and should be easy to edit. You can use any text editor you like, of course - including the standard vi text editor. If you want to use a graphical text editor, open a terminal - or press Alt+F2 - and run the following command:įor an easy-to-use terminal-based editor - Nano - use the following command. Open the /etc/default/grub file for editing in a standard text editor. RELATED: A Beginner's Guide to Editing Text Files With Vi In other words, to customize your GRUB2 settings, you’ll have to edit the /etc/default/grub file and then run the sudo update-grub command.

#Super grub2 windows 10 windows 10#

How do I tell Linux Mint Windows 10 is also on the SSD and offer me a selection menu at boot time?Īdditional info: I have both UEFI and Legacy enabled in Bios, secure boot is disabled.When you run the update-grub command, GRUB automatically combines the settings from the /etc/default/grub file, the scripts from the /etc/grub.d/ directory, and everything else, creating a /boot/grub/grub.cfg file that’s read at boot. I need to boot from the stick every time so this is not a decent long term solution.

#Super grub2 windows 10 iso#

I've made me a GRUB2 USB stick, I downloaded an ISO Super Grub2 disk, which lets me choose between the 2 OS's.

#Super grub2 windows 10 install#

What seems to be missing is the option to select between Win and Linux at startup even though my Windows 10 install is still intact. So I installed Windows 10 after Linux, repaired my GRUB2 from a Live Mint USB with Boot-Repair and can again boot to my Linux OS. Because I already have a fully configured Linux system to my liking, reinstalling Linux is not on the menu.

super grub2 windows 10

In the past, the easiest way to create a dual boot system was: Install Windows, resize SSD and install Linux, which detects Windows and let's you select at boot. Because I have more than enough disk space I wanted to add Windows 10 to the mix because I need Windows to flash my Gigabyte eGPU and sadly going completely without Windows is still a pipe dream when dealing with hardware. I'll start with explaining my situation and what I did: I have an Intel NUC7 that I just upgraded with a 1TB NVMe SSD and am running Linux Mint 19.1 Cinnamon.

super grub2 windows 10

I've asked this question on the Mint forums, but all I can hear there are crickets.Maybe more luck on /r/linuxmint.







Super grub2 windows 10